An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Blending...

Backblip

We had a lazy morning drinking tea, eating toast and looking at the view.  The weather is changeable so the view never stays the same.  

At midday we headed off to have lunch at the Harris Hotel.  They phoned us earlier to advise they were a chef down so the lunch menu was reduced to soup, sandwiches, paninis etc (basically food that didn't have to be cooked as such). Fine by us.

The weather was verging on very decent all the way to the hotel but the heavens opened just as we were getting out the car!  That always happens to me.  Once we were inside the hotel the rain stopped.  Sod's law :-)

As the waitress showed us to our table, through the very cosy little bar, my wheels got trapped in the double doors into the restaurant!  (Only one half of the doors were open and I misjudged the space)  I was well and truly wedged!  For a minute I thought I would have to eat my lunch right there, half in the restaurant and half in the bar!  Thankfully The waitress managed to get the other door open and I was able to continue to our table.

Once settled we enjoyed the soup and Cullen skink and paninis (soups for Kenny and David, paninis for Ele and me.)

The weather forecast showed a dry window from 3pm to 5pm so after lunch we headed back to the house and I got my paints out while the other three set off to walk to the Eagle Observatory, the gravel footpath to which is not to far from where we are staying (turns out it's not to far by car but a killer on the way back as VERY steep.

I had a lovely time painting, even though I made a complete mess of my painting by over working it.  I did start another one, which I may get finished before we go home but I am tempted to wait until I am back in my wee studio without folk looking over my shoulder to see how I'm getting on :-)

David, Kenny and Ele were just in the door from their walk when the heavens opened!  Two minutes after 5pm so the forecast was accurate (well done Met Office :-) 

Nothing else for it but to have a wee aperitif, eat dinner and watch No Time to Die.  

The handsome beast in my blip today was not in the least fazed by us stopping the car to let me get photos.  Beautiful creature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.