Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hissy Fit

I met up with KangaZu this morning at the Delaware Water Gap, which is about midway between our respective homes.  Jax came with me, of course.  Peggy and I had a short visit and tried to photograph the swarms of carpenter bees that were having their way with the log cabin that used to house the visitor center.  Must have been quite a sight - two women pointing long lenses at swarms of bees from what would appear to be an unsafe distance.  Factually, however, only the females are capable of stinging and they were way too busy trying to avoid the males to pay us any notice.  All of my pics were rubbish except one from my cell phone, of all things.  Anyway, it was nice to visit with Peggy and we'll make plans to get together again in the summer.

From there, I decided to stop off at the place where I saw this female Canada goose on eggs a little over 2 weeks ago. I was hoping I might catch a glimpse of goslings, but no dice.  Instead, Jax and I were warned off by Mama (here) and Papa who were showing us their goose-teeth and making hissing noises.  Jax didn't know what to make of it all and was staying close to me.  And then, to freak him out even more, a frog jumped out of the grass right in front of him and landed in the water with a loud splash.  

Now, I should mention at this juncture that I was feeling somewhat happy about Jax being spooked.  This morning while I was in the bathroom washing up, Jax got my favorite pillow off the bed (which he knows he's not supposed to be on, the little shit) and proceeded to unstuff it all over the bedroom.  It was a feather pillow, of course. What a mess.  Stop laughing. Sigh. Okay, see Extra.

We begin Advanced Puppy Obedience tonight.  I am hopeful that I can maybe wear him out before we go just so he'll behave a bit better.  

Dark with caramel today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.