Cwm Llan

Have you noticed it's Friday 13th today. I did but pretended I didn't. I was walking up the Watkin Path, which goes up Snowdon. Although it's said to be one of the toughest paths, it's also one of the prettiest in the early stages and that bit isn't too steep. As I started through woodland, there were loads of bluebells and further up the May (hawthorn) is in bloom. My plan was to get to Cwm Llan where there are waterfalls, lovely pools of a deep green colour and an interesting slate bridge.

I arrived there after just about thirty minutes of walking and just ahead of me going off on a path to the right there was a group of youngsters and they decided to stay there, which wasn't what I wanted them to do. After dawdling around on the bridge they decided they'd have a swim. Judging by the squealing from the girls, it must have been fairly fresh. 'Fresh as a Mountain Stream' as they used to say on those menthol cigarettes. I concentrated on the waterfall upstream and that's the main photo. If you open it up to the full resolution version I hope you'll be able to see the colour of the water in the pool.

By the time I'd satisfied myself with the fall and taken all the risks I allowed myself on Fri13, the youngsters had bug gone and I could shoot down stream. You'll see a shot of the slate bridge, I imagine it was built my miners (there are lots of workings around here) and they didn't have a slate long enough for the span. They ingeniously built a lower platform and put another large rock on that to cross the rest of the way. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.