Not Done Yet....

It was a full day - in the morning preparing food for our book club meeting, visiting a neighbour to chat and then washing down outdoor furniture...Not exciting, but busy...and then book club itself took the whole afternoon.. 

For once, we all liked the book (Rizzio, by Denise Mina) but it wasn't one with controversial issues that tend to spark a really animated discussion..but it did get us off on a tangent about how we wished history had been taught in a much more interesting manner back in our school days...Back then it was mostly copying notes off the blackboard, double underlining major headings and single underlining sub headings..zzzzzz..  At exam time, we memorized our notes and spouted back events and dates and then promptly forgot them as they had no meaning for us.. No-one ever connected the dots or made history relevant....

I know things changed over time as when my daughter was in high school, she would often come home from school all excited about something they had done in history class! Imagine!  Anyway, we thought that if history had been taught to us like the story of the murder of Rizzio was told, we would have at least remembered it!  Now that I am all grown up, I love learning about history and especially enjoy reading historical novels..but I sure had no interest in history back in high school!  

All of us today said the book made us want to learn a little more about Mary Queen of Scots...and sent us off to the internet to do so...which is always a good outcome of reading any book...Wanting to learn more is a good thing! 

So, as the day came to an end, I still did not have a blip, so I went down to the lake thinking photogenic sail boats and people frolicking on the beach - but there really wasn't much happening - well, one sailboat  But... what did catch my eye was a planting of tulips I had not noticed before..beautiful brilliant orange ones backlit by the sun..One would think the tulips would be all done by now, but not those ones! They were at their peak..and just glowing in the sun...I could not resist...hence, my blip! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.