LEIGHTON MOSS AND ANGLESEY

Now that's an odd title huh!!

 LEIGHTON MOSS
Well this morning Hubby had to take his car in to be serviced, so that meant getting up early (for us these days) and getting the car in by 8.30 am.

So we decided we would go annd look at the avocets at Leighton Moss. I found it this time, no problem at all, but boy is that track filled up with pot holes!!!!

Now today was one of those accident-prone days - eeekkk!!  As I got out of the car and changed into my walking shoes I accidentally knocked my camera bag and the camera fell out onto the floor.  Not too bad as it landed quite softly just got a little dirty, even then not too bad.  I switched it on to check it was working OK --- and guess what --- I only had two gars of battery left EEEEEKKKKK!!!  Now I've never ever done that before.  I almost gave up there and then, but I thought, well two bars I'll still get a few shots in with that, so I was very careful with what I took.  Towards the end it was getting difficult to focus, but at least I got a few photots before it died on me.  LESSON LEARNT.  I'm now going into invest in a spare battery and have it fully juiced up 

I've never visited this hide before and hadn't realised you can actually get  good view of the chimneyat Jenny Brown's point from there (as n collage)!!.

The Gulls were sooooo noisy and there were thousands of them, nesting near there but we did see several avocets, which was the main reason for the visit.

Luckily hubby had his binoculars with him so he could have a good look around.  

After that we just went to Beethams Nurseries and had a sort of brunch and coffee, bought some plants and came home.

ANGLESEY
For some time now I've been thiniking of going to Anglesey for a holiday but keep putting it off.  Some of you will know that I spent a lot of my childhood in Cemaes Bay on Anglesey and absoluttely loved it  I have two places that I consider my true home and that is Leiston in Suffolk, where I was born and Cemaes on Anglesey where I lived from the age of 9 to 16.  

I have revisted Cemaes just once since we left and that was back i the 1990s.  

I've been looking at a few self catering places to stay at in Cemaes.  There are some, but, thankfully, there aren't loads of them.  

Anyway I found somewhere that I thought would suit us, showed it to Hubby - he liked it too.  So I was going to leave it for a while as October was completely free, however in just the last two days, a lot of October has now been booked up, so Hubby said go ahead and book.  SO I HAVE.  With Sykes Cottages, which I've never used before, I hope they are good!!!

It turns out that the place I've book is opposite an old windmill (now a bit  forlorn) where I used to play as a friend lived in there and  I used to go blackberrying down that lane. Sadly all the blackberry bushes seem to have now gone but the lane  still looks good.

So now I'm both excited and nervous about going back all at the same time!!  Why, it doesn't maatter, it's jut a holiday right!!??

Anyway knowing my luck that week will be the stormiest week in history but at least it's not too much driving and I may be able to visit my friend's daughter on the way there or back as she lives Flint.

-----

That's the end of my exciting day.  I''m now going to have  soothing up of tea and sort out my camera and order this battery.

Do take care every and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.