Delays

I’m backblipping this, because my trip home took longer than expected and I arrived rather late.

But first, S, H and I were invited for lunch, at my other cousins D & A’s house in beautiful countryside, overlooking the Chew Valley between Bristol and Bath. It was lovely to see them again and catch up.

S & H then drove me to the airport, which was jam-packed with beer-fueled Glasgow Rangers fans on their way to the Europa League final in Seville, loudly rehearsing their songs.

Later, as we had boarded our plane (which was already delayed by 40 minutes), we were treated to the sight of four guys standing around some baggage carts, obviously discussing how to load so many bags onto our plane, without any one of them actually working. Their debate added another 20 minutes to the delay.

Back in Frankfurt, I whizzed through passport control - hoping to get home quickly - just to be greeted by this announcement at the baggage carousel. Another 25 minute wait later, I could finally drive home.

And I didn’t believe the airport’s claim about “high traffic volume” for a minute. As you can see in my blip, the place was almost empty. The real reason might have been staff shortage. Perhaps many of their employees have travelled to Seville as well, since Frankfurt is playing Rangers in the grand final.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.