Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Summer glow at Gunnerton

We had a bit of a hectic morning. Maureen was here to help look after Mum. She thought she saw a hen in our garden, so she and Mum decided how to contact our neighbours up the road, who keep hens.

I said, "are you sure it's not the pheasant?". He had been in the garden earlier. 

Later, it transpired that it was the pheasant. Excitement over.

This afternoon, I went for a short walk from Gunnerton village. I'll be leading a walk here in mid June and I wanted to check the start. I was too late to do the whole walk.

I have been there earlier this year, looking for cowslips, but found only primroses. I was glad to see that I was not too late (see extra), although most of the cowslips are over.

I loved the sunlit grasses and played with out of focus shots. The St Mark's fly photobombed this image.

Bibio marcia  is a distinctive black fly. They hang their legs down in flight. They usually emerge near to St Mark's Day at the end of April. I think they are late this year. 

Back home for an RPS talk on Photobooks. This was not what I expected but was interesting.

On Netflix I'm enjoying The Lincoln Lawyer. One reviewer says it is only "just alright". I think I like it because it is quite old fashioned in its production. It's not nearly as brutal as the Cane Field Massacres I'd just finished!

PS The cowslip is Mum's favourite wild flower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.