Browsing

A short trip up the much quieter A1 from Harrogate to Scotch Corner and from Barnard Castle over the moors to Stanhope and Morpeth where we hardly met a vehicle.  Lots of sheep, and unfortunately a few that had been hit, including lambs.  They are so unpredictable that it’s best to pass them at a snail’s pace.

Lots of photo opportunities but nowhere to stop.

By the afternoon we had reached Alnwick so parked up and walked up to the famous bookshop for a cup of tea and a browse,    A fascinating place but I prefer my books to be less worn shall I say.  I did spot some Dornford Yates books, which took me back to my youth, although they were old even then.

Once at our accommodation, we unpacked, changed and went out to the local pub for dinner with our hosts.  So much to catch up on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.