Helmut has High Hopes

When LMB observed that she had no story books about Helmut, her cuddly hermit crab, the situation had to be remedied. Her mum and I came up with a storyline and, as I had more available time, I created the illustrations (which, with more time, her mum would have liked to have drawn) and put the story into words. 

I've spent much of this past week arranging these into a book using Photobox, whose templates and software are quite user-friendly, and today I ordered the finished book. It should arrive by the end of this month. I suspect little Miss B will love it. (It's ridiculously expensive, even with 40% discount, but I know their products are beautifully produced.)

The mission had an extra pleasure for me in that I bought the cuddly critter three years ago from a Dartmouth toy shop, with the expectant parents in attendance giving their approval. My daughter chose the crab's name and gave him a voice, which for some random reason has a German accent. He's a lovely character and in the story he wants to be able to fly. Its title is Helmut has High Hopes. We have high hopes that it will be well received and much enjoyed. 

The illustrations are silly enough for me to share one for Silly Saturday, in memory of admirer who hosted the challenge that she began all those years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.