Gardening for scholars

Another wet day! I popped out at 3pm to try to find an Emergency Blip and the rain appeared to have dried up - I could almost imagine that the sun was trying to come out, though it didn't really try hard enough! 

There's a garden opening today not far away, but as I'm still Covid positive I suppose I shouldn't have gone even if I'd felt like it, which I don't! With rain most of the day it was a stay at home day anyway.

My Blip today is of a low-growing shrub by the name of Lithodora diffusa 'Heavenly Blue', or so I thought. In my earlier gardening days it was known as Lithodorum diffusum or Lithodorum diffusa, but I had got used to the change. Occasionally it was seen as Lithodorum prostratum too. I've just discovered that in 2008 the genus was split up and this poor plant is now to be known as Glandora diffusa 'Heavenly Blue'! I can't believe it - some taxonomists somewhere with nothing better to do have to justify their existence! The new name doesn't appear to have reached the trade yet!

Is it any wonder that supermarkets use labels saying 'Green plant', or in this case no doubt, 'Blue Plant'! Whatever the name of this trailing shrub, it's planted on the very edge of the bank outside the kitchen window and will be pegged down the vertical surface as it grows.

Quote of the Day - "Botany is the school for patience, and its amateurs learn resignation from daily disappointments". - Thomas Jefferson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.