Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Almost White

This is Saturday's blip, backblipped on Sunday.

Today was Becky's birthday.  Unfortunately, it didn't start out well.  When they looked outside, they saw that a part of their big, beautiful apple tree had split from the trunk and fallen into the street.  Darrin's dad went over with his chain saw and he and Darrin moved it out of the street and cut it into small enough pieces to take to the city drop off (where they make mulch which is free to residents).  It took two pick-up loads to get it all there!  They'll have an arborist look at it next week.  We're all hoping that the rest of the tree will be okay as it shades the front of their house in the afternoons.

While the guys took the second load to the drop off, PD and I went over and brought Becky some presents to cheer her up.  By then it was mid-afternoon, so we didn't stay long because we had dinner reservations at 6:30.  

Dinner was at Martini's Bistro, so of course we started with martinis and a delicious charcuterie board.  My entree of scallops and crab cake is in the extra.  I'll never make it as a food photographer.  PD had the same and Becky had rack of lamb.  Darrin ordered two appetizers, mussels and beet salad with strawberries, blue cheese and arugula.  I traded half of my crab cake for part of his yummy salad.  We perused the dessert menu, but decided we were too full.  The food and ambience were perfect. :-)

When I got home I took this photo of my almost white Columbine.  Because we had two nights of below freezing temperature, I sadly cut all the flowers and brought them inside.  I left one outside and it didn't make it, so at least I know I did the right thing and I can still enjoy them for a while and my table. 

I am grateful for my best friend for the last 43 years, my wonderful daughter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.