A day in the life

By Shelling

Dandelions

One of our early symbols of summer, the dandelion, has already peaked where I live. We have a long country and it will be a while before it reaches the northern parts of Sweden. In Scandinavia, (Denmark Norway and Sweden) there are over 1000 species according to Mrs Google, many of them are edible and many can, in some part, be used as a medical plant in folk-medicin. They are great pollinators in the early summer and is a real kickstart for our insects. I've had hundreds in my lawn by my new flat, usually I save them while they are flowering but now they have gone into seed so I just cut my lawn today. They are still beautiful I think, even in this stage and now I've helped them to spread with my mower.

I enjoyed a beer after my long walk this afternoon and I was accompanied at the table by this probable Admiral butterfly, I'm not sure since it wouldn't let me see the back but pictures of it on Google looks very similar.
Day one on my journey to become 70 has been satisfactory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.