Capital adventures

By marchmont

Meeting and greetin'

A broken night as there was a power cut which made the boiler make funny noises and the motion activated stair light come on.  I braved the thought that there might be an intruder (unlikely) and checked that everything was as it should be and the cat was fast asleep.  I never really got back to sleep, until 'Today' came on.

Caught up with some prep for the next arrivals and some gardening before it was time for my first Board member 1-1.  That took me up to lunch and then I struggled with some more gardening including attempting to sit in the sun. The day was better than forecast.  This was interrupted by S, the joiner, who came to review the bathroom refurb work and then later W and his wife (whose name I have forgotten) arrived.  They were last here in 2019, booked in for 2020, and obviously that didn't happen. 

By the time I'd welcomed them (they are here for one of the Church Assemblies) it was time to head off to the Manor via Sainsbury's to prepare for collecting the returnee.  Unfortunately the plane took off from Nimes an hour late and was 40 minutes late in landing. Also unfortunately the new pass had not arrived so I decided to take the bus to the airport, easier parking. 

As the bus approached the airport I could see the plane come in on hybrid approach.  I hung around in the assistance lounge till it closed and then hung around outside the International Arrivals area until an hour after landing, Mum appeared.  Apparently there were 5 people on the flight with special assistance.  I was nearly greetin'.

It was well after 9 before I got home, so glad I had something to eat before I set off to the airport, even if it was a Sainsbury's forgettable curry. 

Tired and feeling I am catching my tale all the time. 

The control tower remains iconic. I'll be back in 5 weeks, on my own travels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.