A sea view..

From this side street in Cromer where I parked my car this afternoon (there on the left). Where possible I try to find free spaces around the sidesteps and this afternoon I was in Cromer where I joined a poetry group for the first time. They meet at Cromer library once a month, although today was their first day back since the pandemic. I had been shown an advert about it thanks to Daniel, and had arranged to join them today, to see if I liked it.

The theme for this month was 'Home' and the group were clearly very knowledgeable about their poets. I really don't have a tiny percentage of their knowledge, but had searched out a Thomas Hardy poem based on Home. The others all has 3 or 4 to read out. Well the afternoon went like this; I told them I write poetry, they had already said they don't read their own poetry, effectively saying I have to find proper published poems. I was OK with that, but as I had written a poem in 2010 about my home at the time, I took it with me on my iPad - just in case. When it was my turn to read, I realised I only had 1 poem and they all had several. They were so lovely, they said it was fine for me to read my own poem. So I did. They liked it a lot and said I was talented, gave me such unexpected positive feedback and asked if I had had any poems published. They were very kind. When my time came round again they asked if I had any more of my own I could read. So I read another one and they seemed amazed by it. So I think I've broken their rules already and they didn't seem to mind! Anyway, it was a really enjoyable couple of hours. Reading and listening to poetry. It has given me the drive to start reading my many poetry books I own, and explore others. Plus to try to get mine in a book which I started to do ages ago.

So my day backwards.Before lunch I sang which was enjoyable as always, and before that shopping, which wasn't. After the poetry group I came home and went nextdoor to do some cleaning, and bed making ready for Manda and Mum tomorrow.

Mollie cooked dinner, then I cycled quickly in the rain to feed the chickens. I was happy to get wet as I want the rain on my seedlings. I hope it keeps off for the weekend though.

Another nice day off. Especially as I had got most of my cleaning jobs done last night in my house, so it has just been a day for me. And no headache. That proves it is the job that causes them. Hmmm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.