"Twas the Worst of Times.....

These past few days have been an emotional rollercoaster....from shock to horror to sadness to frustration to anger..19 children, two teachers, gunned down in their classrooms? Not again! Does this ever end? How can this continue to happen? What is going on down there? 

Perhaps the best thing that happened today was that my TV, Internet and landline phone Service Provider had an extended outage and as a result, I had a whole afternoon of not being glued to the TV, watching and listening to the details of the Texas school shooting that get more and more difficult to deal with every day... Instead I went over to a neighbour's and sat with her in her garden gazebo, admiring her display of alliums, sipping wine and talking of other things...well, at least for a while...

But the outage issue was eventually resolved and by this evening, I again had all my media technology in full working order....and of course, the urge to get caught up on the latest developments took over...hence the blip. 

Why the knitting? Because I have been sitting here for days knitting while the aftermath of the Texas carnage played out before me on my iPad....When I note how much progress I have made on that one sock over the last day or so, I realize that I have been watching way too much CNN...and I need to take a break from it. 

Time to trade the iPad for an entertaining, uplifting book, do some digging in the garden or perhaps start packing for a little holiday break up north? The news will still be there when I am ready to face it again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.