Island Blipping

Always full of life
I return to the island
to catch even more

~carliewired

I peeked out my bedroom door about 4:30 thinking I might catch some morning colour. In my disappointment, I rolled back into bed for another 3 hours sleep. I sat with my big mug of coffee until after 9. I had a new book in hand and I surprised myself that I had the attention to read it comfortably. I've been struggling with lack of focus in many areas so I am hoping I might have turned the corner on this problem. 

I drove off to McArthur Island in search of goslings. I had no problem finding them. They are in several sizes now. Some are almost as big as the parents. I see younger goslings that are still fluffy and yellowish. I see long-legged teenagers that are sprouting new feathers. I keep a respectful distance. The geese themselves are not particularly mindful of the vehicle traffic or the pedestrians. They just venture out wherever it suits them. 

The northeast side of the slough that's been dry for months now has water. The waterfowl have already moved in to that portion. 

I walked over the foot bridge by the Butterfly Garden. I caught a lovely doe grazing along the edge of the slough. 

There are pops of colour in the garden spaces. I was pleased to see the first red poppy of the season and there's more to come. 

I looked across the playing fields to my mountains in the east. There's a lot of human activity in the park now that the days are warmer. The Rivers Trail is always busy now. 

My quilted hearts this week are blue and orange. I left one by the sundial on the east side. 

I'm home to have a quiet day. I should go in search of a picture frame but that can keep. 

We might expect a high of 24 C on this cloudy day. We  also have a risk of a thunderstorm in the afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.