Shuswap Road - East to West

A day with sun and
blue sky is not to be missed.
Photos cannot wait.

~ carliewired

I was up at 6:30 making coffee. It was a mostly cloudy 10 C morning. I took a read on the weather and wasn't optimistic at all. I dawdled hoping it might improve and it did. 

Meanwhile, my annoying neighbours have set up their garage sale for the third day this weekend. I could hear them rattling around outside. I needed to take my leave. 

I left the house just before 9, picked up some breakfast and drove east on the TransCanada Highway. I turned off for the LaFarge Road bridge across the South Thompson River, turning west onto Shuswap Road. 

My first stop was a place to view the bridge I'd just crossed and have a look at Campbell Creek running into the river. At the junction of the creek and the river, a family of Canada geese were moving along the river, then up onto the creek. I imagine they know where the fishing is good. Often, I've seen fellows fishing with fly rods right there. 

We've had so much wet weather this cold spring that the weeds and vegetation have already grown tall. Wild mustard has filled many fields and pastures turning them yellow. These plants are already as high as the fenceposts in some spots. The downside of all this growth is it soon turns to tinder when summer heat turns it brown. 

I get to see the back of my mountains as I head west. Yellow salsify (sunflower family) is appearing along the roadside. It is already a meter high. 

I stopped to look up at the silt bluffs on the north side of the road and also to look back at the South Thompson River. 

I was home again just before 11 to find someone parked across my driveway. I had to wait for them to drive away while my annoying neighbour stood watching and doing nothing. 

I'm in for the day and need to complete my quilted hearts for this coming week. There's a chance of meatballs. 

We might expect a high of 23 C and a chance of a thunderstorm. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.