Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Hockney

I’ve just read artist David Hockney’s new book , with Martin Gayford, “Spring Cannot be Cancelled” so was inspired to play with the iPad drawing once again.   I’ve done quite a few but not recently, so had to re-educate myself with the app (which isn't the exact same one as DH uses) 

This is also a story about blip.  In 2017 we visited West Yorkshire and met a few blippers …kind and wonderful Wendles56  and husband Tony took us to Salt’s Mill, in Saltaire to see Hockney’s The Arrival of Spring ,  (link to Wendy's blip at bottom of this) iPad drawings from the nearby wolds, and also to the new exhibit in Cartwright Hall, Bradford, where he was born, celebrating his 80th birthday.   I loved it all!     Well,  some weeks ago another blipper we met then, Jeanneb blipped his new exhibit at Salt’s Mill …The Year in Normandy, putting the whole show on flickr for me to savor  (the link is in her blip) …..and shortly after that, in the mail from Wendy comes the new book!     How cool is that?   All because of blip friends!   thankful. 
I know his art isn’t for everyone but I think he’s brilliant…he is 3 years older than I and totally fills his days making and seeing and thinking about art.   I’m in awe of his energy and concentration. All kinds of media, painting, printing, photography and drawing ( and set designs)…and of course the iPad drawings.   He isolated in Normandy France for the pandemic on 4 acres so that landscape was “ his place” to be seen in all conditions and it’s presented like the Bayeux Tapestries as one long picture of the year.  

It does take time but it’s  satisfying…and quicker than paint . . I think this will be “my place” from the cabin that I MAY try to capture all different ways….today in the rain with only the near islands visible.   There is more to discover. Always…

Sorry we have no family here this year for the holiday Memorial Day….the ones that thot they might come tested positive for covid so it’s just as well they aren't here (altho it's a great spot to quarantine) …and it’s not a beautiful day.  I’ve  just been horrified to read of more mass shootings this weekend in the USA as nothing happens to address the most basic gun control in that legislature while Canada proposes a bill to buy back all assault type weapons that will likely pass in theirs.

tomorrow...few words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.