If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Orange Hawkweed ( Pilosella aurantiaca )

A long day at the Lodge.  The incoming guests needed to have oxygen delivered and somebody had to be there to receive it.  So we had to stay until they arrived.  This gave time to do a little gardening.

We are in the process of converting the banks into a wildflower meadow.  We sowed seeds but they don't seem to have done very well, so we have when our lives slow down a little, lots of plants rather than seeds.  One plant which has been there for a few years is this striking orange one.  When I have got round to trying to identify it, the nearest I can get is Orange Hawkweed.  This gives me a slight problem.  I am trying to post "thirty days wild" and it appears this is an escapee.  However, as it arrived in the Lodge garden by its own efforts I am counting it as wild.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.