ULVERSTON AND BEYOND

Well what a frustrating but also partly  enjoyable day.

Yesterday our DVD Recorder/Player broke, keeps coming up with a U61 sign.  Goggling it seems something inside is defunct.  So OK, we've had it for about 23 years or so, so time to replae it.

NOT THAT EASY.  Apparently DVD Recors/Players are now OLD and a lot of people no longer use them!!!  Well to me, being the non-violent luddite that I am DVDs are still modern technology.  I get confused when they start talking about HDMIs, Phonos etc, I just understand about a skart (apparently that is now almost defunct too!!!!)

Hubby looked up where to get them and the only places really are Curry's or Argos.  Now with Argos there is no-one to ask any qestions, so hubby looked up Curry's and according to the website the one we decided we think will suit us was in stoc in Barrow.

So after Tai Chi, we trot off to Barrow.  NOT IN STOCK, the olhy place they have that it is in stock was in BLACKPOOL - oh no hangong on a minute she says, there are two in store in Kendal aaarrrggghhhh!!!!

Oh well that's tomorrow's trip out then.  So I'll take you for a nice lunch at the Fisherman's Arms along the Furness Coast Road says hubby.  So we negotiate our way through Barrow vaguely wave to CumbriaLass and Fletch as we by-pass there area (well where I think it is) and, guess what, NOT OPEN ON MONDAYS OR TUESDAYS.  Oh well never mind, on we plod and as we drove past The Olde Mill at Bardsea, lights were on  yeah let's try there.  So park up, and guess what LIGHTS ON BUT NO-ONE IN  - all closed up, obvioulsy also not open on a Mondah.

Now I know it's not really worth going to Manjushri unless all you want is soup or cake. So we stop off in Ulverston.  Gillam;s closes on a Mondoay (well I kind of new that)l  the Mad Hatter is no longer there - aah I know the new one The Cobbles - up we trots - guess what CLOSED  ON MONDAYS!!!  MARKET CAFE CLOSED.  So we go into The Farmer's Inn as by now I was a bit desparate for the facilities!!

Now I've never been in there before so it was good to try somewhere new.  It's a weird sort of place, although it seems very popular.  I say weird because when you go in, it's quite dark and feels more like a night club, but they serve food, so we staye put.

Well the food was actually rather nice - we both opted for the stir fried beef.  A little spicy for me and a bit too much onion but still enjoyable and I just scopped the onion out.  It also came with a portion of chips and pilau rice.  Both very nice.  Personnally I would have preferred just the rice as wit the chips it was a little big but that's just my opinion.  Overall a nice meal, quick service and pleasant enough. 

After that we just came home.  Now we have to research more about where Curry's is in Kendal and see if they really do have a DVD recorder / Player in stock and will it fit our TV.  Now I know we're going to have to replace our TV at some point becaue it is over 25 yeras old however it still works so not just yet.  

I just hate the fact that new technology, especially wehn it comes things like TVs, DVD players, etc is so throw away.  Surely you can embrase new technology whlist still keeping osme of the old, that isn't really that old (well not in my book any way!!!).  Old to me is over 50 years.  I like buyig things that last, I don't get why things have to be replaced every couple of years, such a waste of rresources and money and not good for the planet.

Sorry mini rant over.  Now to get back to normal.

That's all for now.  I'm aware I@m a little behind in replying to your blips, I will get back to them as soonas I can.  Many thanks for continuing to visit my blips.

Do take care, stay safe and I will see you all tomlrrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.