flavia13

By flavia13

CHIPPING

Aaarrgghh I've just lost everything I just typed - oh well, lets start again!!!!

I had a day of exploring today.  On researching churches I came across St Bartholomew's in the village of Chipping in the Ribble Valley within The Forest of Bowland, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

I've always loved the Forest of Bowland, it is so pretty and so many places that seem to be miles away from anywhere and it is much less crowded than The Lakes or The Dales.

I drove down the A590, A591 and onto the M6 leaving at Junction 33.  Then immediately on turning onto the A6 I turned down a lane I've never been down before, Hampson Lane and then drove through beautiful countryside, including Bleasdale, up over a short stretch of the moors.  If you look in extras at the landscape photo, you can just make out The Lake District fells and Morecambe Bay in the distance and to the left of the photo nestling in amongst the trees is Forton Services on the M6.

Anyway I arrived about 10.30 ish.  Now Lake District Council please take note, the car park is only £2 for 4 hours and has free eco friendly and awarding winning beautifully kept toilets.  

The car park is right opposite the church but I went into The Cobbled Corner cafe first for a coffee and a very light bite. There were just a few people in there, some holidaymakers having breakfast, some locals.

Then I went exploring.  Chipping is a pretty little village.  There is so much history here.  However I decided to visit the church first..  

St Bartholomew's has got to be one of the prettiest churches I've yet come across and there is so much history.  An amazing place..

After walking around the church and the village for a couple of hours I then called into Brabin's Coffee Shop cum Post Office cum Shop for a light lunch and had the most amazing home-made soup, Leek, Courgette something else I can't remember) with a little bit of feta in it and croutons served in a mug, just enough for a light lunch with a lovely fresh seeded roll.  Brabin's is the oldest shop, still being used as a shop, in Britain and has been run as a shop since the 1600s.  It is now more of a coffee shop, but does everything else as well.

The church did win "The Best Kept Village, Place of Worship and Grounds" aware for 2022.  
There are signs of Brabin everywhere.  Basically John Brabin was a wealthy clothing merchant who set up shop in the village.  By his will of 1683 a school, almshouses and a charity to help the local poor was founded.  The Brabin Trust still contributes to the education and welfare of local people today.
 
Anyway after all that I just came home.  A lovely day out.  The roads were quiet and it only takes about an hour and a quarter to get there. I did stop off on the moors on the way home to take landscape shot.

Well that's all from me today - phew you'll be thinking.  You don't have to read it all of course but I know some of you like to know about these things.

Do take care everyone and stay safe and I will see you all tomorow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.