Kata Tjuta

Phew.  I’ve had a big day. Caught the bus this morning which arrived at the correct time by seconds. The rest of the trip went like clockwork and I can’t criticise anything about the adventure. Not so good for another small bus trip by the same tour company which had an accident yesterday not far from here. One person was killed and two are in hospital. I wonder if they had a blown tyre. They are still investigating. The driver was a bit upset I think and reminded us to wear our seatbelts. 

Our first stop was Kata Tjuta about 40km from the campground. They moved the camping and commercial businesses out of the National Park to save damage to the fragile environment. The new township is called Yulara. 

I chose this pic because it shows the colours so well. My new Nikon doesn’t seem to get the best portrayal of the colours (maybe I need to change the settings). This is a phone shot. We did the Waḻpa Gorge Walk which is into the gorge in the middle of the blip. It was over rough sedimentary rocks (the boulders were up to 40cm across). The main rock structures are sedimentary rock which has been tipped up at an angle. The highest dome is Mt Olga at over 1000m. 

Next stop was the Uluru Cultural Centre followed by a walk into the Mutitjulu Waterhole which was brimming with water after recent rain. There was still water trickling into the large pool. Next stop, after driving around the Rock, we explored the Mala area with many caves and the start of the old climb. There is no climbing these days mainly due to cultural reasons. It was also very dangerous. How my parents climbed the rock in their 70s I have no idea. No way for me. I would be terrified as I don’t like heights, have vertigo and blood pressure (well controlled but they say not to do it) plus I’m not that fit. I can imagine being half way up and freezing. Maybe 10m up and freezing. It has happened before. 

Then, after rounding up the others on the bus (some went the wrong way) we went to the viewing area for a bbq and sunset photos. 

Tomorrow we are retuning and riding our bikes around the base.

According to Ross, the driver and guide, Uluru is one rock, sedimentary in nature and has been tipped up 90° so the levels (time lines) are vertical not horizontal. One end is therefore much older than the other. The rock extends 6km underground. Wow. 

I’ll put this in for Tiny Tuesday because I feel quite tiny in comparison to these magnificent domes ( sorry Jenny, I couldn’t resist) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.