Mt Connor and friends…

All my life I have wanted to see Ayers Rock ( now called Uluru). I was like a child before Christmas this morning while waiting for my first glimpse of what I think is the most iconic view in Australia (OK along with the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House). I almost cried when finally it came into view. We are still about 20km away but these were taken late this afternoon from a lookout we climbed near the Campground for a taste of what’s to come. 

About 100 km from the Rock we could see Mt Connor first to get us excited. Then the Rock and the Olga’s (Kata Tjuta). Tomorrow we are going on a tour for the day to hear all the details then we have 2 days to explore ourselves. 

The lower pics include last night’s sunset, the service station (diesel was $2.75/l) and a cute little bird I saw at a stop on the side of the road. I’m thinking it might be a finch but my knowledge of birds is scant. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.