Guerilla gardening 2

Yesterday's table-leg mending was not a huge success. One is just about stable enough for me to leave it; the other is not. I looked for my wood filler but couldn't find it so had another go using yesterday's technique.

Then I set about sorting and dismantling the indoor shed that Tivoli and I created two years ago when the outdoor shed became a waterfall. For three reasons:
1. It will need doing before I move out for the builders.
2. Now that Firstborn has asked to come and stay next week at the same time as I am committed to housing four German 17-year-olds for our town-twinning concert, I need some floorspace to put a blow-up mattress.
3. It contains a lot of junk to be rid of - partly stuff I've found here since I moved in and partly unsorted stuff that I heaped into boxes in a hurry just before our successors moved into our old house.
So I have Freegled loads of things that others might just find useful. And, bonus, found my wood-filler just in case take three is needed.

Yesterday I Freegled the last remaining plants in the bed that will get trampled/built on: a delicately scented, mature yellow rose intertwined with a youngish hazel tree (extra) that should never have been planted so close. The deal was that whoever wanted them had to dig them up. Lots of enthusiastic/vague-people wanted the rose; one decisive person wanted the hazel and at 6 this evening he turned up as arranged and got digging.

After he'd cycled off with 8 feet of hazel tree on his back I checked Freegle and realised that none of the enthusiastic/vague-people had said when they could collect the rose. By now the poor thing was out of soil and out of water so instead of chasing vagues I planted it in the other planter at the end of my street. I doubt it will survive such disruption but at least I can watch what's left of it.

Since the double yellow lines were painted I have seen precisely zero traffic wardens round here. If they did come, a lot of low-income livelihoods would be damaged.


I've now caught up with myself, for the first time in two weeks. If my dedicated fan is interested in skimming through the blips posted two-at-a-time, they start here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.