A few of my favourite things!

A rather gloomy day today - dull, drizzly and rather midgy! I spent a few hours doing some of my favourite things - sowing seeds, pricking out seedlings and taking cuttings, as if I need more plants! But I can always give some away. I found some seed packets which had been in the fridge since I bought them at Ventnor Botanic Garden back in October 2019! I find these Yeo Valley yoghurt tubs very useful!

Later in the afternoon we walked down town to buy a paper and deliver a parcel to someone in a local hotel. Unfortunately our visit coincided with the checking in of a group of foreign tourists, so we had to wait rather a long time to get to reception!

In order to get to Tesco we walk through a short pedestrian area known as Gibraltar Street. This is to be renovated by the council and there was a temporary exhibition showing the plans. I stopped to talk to a man who proved to be the Senior Project Officer with the council and mentioned that the artist’s view of the completed precinct was plant-less and looked rather stark. He laughed and said that was his name! We had a long chat and it ended by his saying that he would like to include some planted areas in the final design and asked if I make some suggestions as to the planting. Of course I agreed, but whether that was a wise move I’m not sure!

Limerick of the Day - Sallymair has already commented on this. I made it up as a joke to explain the pronunciation of the name of the town in question.

On the edge of a wood near Kirkcudbright
Stood a thousand and one year old Yud Tright.
Came a woodman one night
To determine its height
With the help of a technical Dud Bright!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.