Flowers In The Rain

We were both tired again his morning.  No news from BB, so I texted him and we had a few exchanges, then nothing.  I suspected and hoped that that meant he had gone to theatre.  I called the ward to ask about him and they confirmed that he had gone to theatre, suggesting that we call back around 12.30 for an update.  Neither of us could settle.  TT attempted to do some work, but was struggling.  I didn’t even attempt work (my boss told me to take the week off, which is very good of him), but I was struggling to concentrate on anything.  I wasn’t feeling particularly anxious, but I clearly was.  It was a very miserable and wet morning, but I decided to go for a walk in the rain, which definitely helped take my mind off BB.  I came back along the river and home through town. I stopped to buy a couple of treats from a local café and bumped into BB’s cello teacher, which made me realise that today is cello lesson day.  She said she hadn’t seen him this morning, which was unusual, so I explained he was off school.  The school hadn’t let her know.
 
Once I was home we made some lunch, and then I called the hospital, a bit later than planned.  He had only been back on the ward around twenty minutes, but the operation had gone well.  We then sorted ourselves out and headed into the hospital. We couldn’t find anywhere to park, so had to cast the net a little wider.  BB was pleased to see us, but he was very very drowsy and slept on and off all afternoon.  We left him for a while and went out for  walk – and got absolutely soaked.  I thought I would dry out in the heat of the hospital – but I didn’t.
 
When we got back, BB had eaten his tea and cleared his plate which must be a good sign.  He was a bit more awake, but not up for much chat as he was sore and uncomfortable, but he wanted us to stay.  He was under the impression he was getting home – but I wasn’t so sure that would happen.  In the end he didn’t get home, but no one let him or us know.  We hardly saw anyone today – and no doctors at all.  A very lovely student nurse who had accompanied BB to theatre did come to see how he was before she went off her shift.  Poor BB was very disappointed to not be leaving and didn’t want us to leave , so we sat with him for another half an hour and then left.  We have to phone in the morning for a further update.
 
It was then back home for us for another late tea and sleep.  Just as he was going to bed TT found a box of flowers hanging out of the letterbox.  The box was soaked, but the flowers were ok.  I shoved them in water and will attend to them in the morning.
 
These flowers are growing by a roundabout at the entrance to our town.  I walked by them this morning, in the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.