I Hate It When That Happens

This is a bowl being made from a piece of wood I got from Lockerbie.
It was making it for myself because where it comes from holds special meaning for me.

It was turned 'wet' (without drying it first) and left in a sealed bag in an unheated room to let it dry slowly.
Two days ago it was doing just fine.

This morning I checked it and found this huge split had opened up.

I think I might be able to make an ornamental piece rather than a functional one out of it - we shall see.

Peter The Pelican now has a show of his own.
It turns out that he has been at the hotel since the late 1970s and when he became too old to fly and thus feed himself properly his wings were clipped and the hotel staff started to look after him and his mate.
Unfortunately his mate died just a few weeks ago and he is spending a lot of time looking for company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.