Cygnet

Well, what a crazy old week this has been.  I was not at all acquainted with the WGH before this week, but we all are well acquainted with it now.  Life really can throw you a curved ball, and you just have to go with it.  One of the hard things is not being in control and being so utterly reliant on others (the professionals) to keep you updated and involved. And of course the hardest thing is being helpless and unable to  make your child's pain go away.  We are hopefully coming out the other side now and he is in the recovery phase.  I naively thought he would be up and about quite quickly – but I’m not sure that will be the case.  I thought he would be back at school on Monday, but that is looking unlikely until the pain and discomfort are under better control.  Thank goodness for Netflix – and for google classroom!  He also needs to come to terms with everything that has happened – and I know he is still working things through in his own head – particularly as this may only be a quick fix, with further surgery in the future.  All of that is an unknown at the moment – and will be explored in the future, but I know it is on his mind.
 
Nurse TT did the early drugs round this morning and worked from home today. We are both exhausted.   I floated around all morning in my pyjamas, as my body felt it had not one drop of energy.  I kept thinking I would go out for a run – but I didn’t.  
 
BB requested a nice lunch, so I popped out to pick him up a tasty bagel, which he really enjoyed.  I would say that throughout all this , his appetite dipped but was never lost – and he is pretty much back to normal now.  TT and I cobbled our lunch together from the fridge, which has been very well stocked this week, with no one here long enough to make a dent in it.
 
Later in the afternoon I ventured out for a walk.  It was lovely, but very windy.  I came home via the supermarket, where I picked up a few things, and then got soaked walking home. 
 
After tea, BB and TT watched movies and I pottered, not really settling or concentrating on anything.  We should have headed off this afternoon for a weekend of outdoor activities with friends – but that is  not to be.
 
I spotted a pair of swans down river with five cygnets, but they were too far away to get a blip.  This is the sole cygnet of the swans who nested on the island near Nungate Bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.