Wine for one

In the Gibbs household best laid plans have a tendency to go off on a tangent, and today that is what has happened. Jon had another bad night, and seemed worse than he was yesterday. We think it is because he thought he was feeling better so ate yesterday evening. In the night that proved to be a mistake, and so today he has not eaten anything, and has just had water to drink.

But as we had things we had to do before going away tomorrow, he has struggled on. In the usual Jon way he didn't say how he felt, but by the afternoon, he was flaked out again. He did, however, manage to put up new towel and toilet roll holder rails in mums nextdoor, and move the old towel and toilet roll holder down to the cloakroom. I knew he wasn't feeling up to it, but we had promised to do it and today was his first and last opportunity before the holiday.

I went over to Lucy's in the morning, and we chatted, and watched her two small children running about in the garden. I dropped some bits off for her then returned to find Jon had packed the trailer and wanted my bag for the car.

After lunch, Henry and I went to the allotment where Henry kindly mowed, until the mower wouldn't start anymore, and he finished the last bit with shears. I planted the remaining 3 team sunflowers, (although there are 10 of us in the team, so we have 7 between us! It won't be a competition, just a some colour interest in my wildflower patch, I hope! I also planted a load more spinach and curly kale, 3 more sweetcorn, 3 runner beans and one French bean. I have a good selection now, and would like regular rain at night while I am away!!

When I got back I realised how rough Jon was feeling and made him go to bed. After a while he developed an itchy rash which he thinks is a reaction to the diacalm, so we've stopped that and he has had an antihistamine. I was worried but he has picked up and I am making him stay in bed. Thanks to Manda and her lovely nurse friend I was able to send symptoms and photos of his rash and get some guidance.

Mollie made pizza and then i dashed back to the allotment to fill up the chicken food box for while we are away. I bumped into a neighbour and we had a nice chat walking back. I asked her about the Gresham Ladies group as I don't think I have been getting the emails. I need to check.

Did more in the garden, and got in the 3 loads of washing I did today, as it was so I light, not realising the time, I have now sat down. It is likely that we won't be able to go on holiday now until Monday, so I rang the campsite. Fingers crossed we can go then.

Now I'm finishing off a bottle of our favourite red wine and watching a film on Netflix. Its not a film anyone else would want to watch - Ladies of Lavender.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.