From the Humber Bridge

As you can see, we did eventually get away. Jon had a better night, and felt well this morning, but we took it slowly. Dry toast, a bit of sitting in the sun, then coffee a bit later. We could have waited until tomorrow but the car and trailer were packed up, so we decided to go at about 1pm. Quite a lot later than planned.

We stopped at King's Lynn for a dry French stick lunch, then it was full steam ahead through Lincolnshire. We haven't taken this winding route before, traditionally taking the A1. It was more scenic and free flowing. The Humber Bridge was am impressive structure and cost £1.50 to cross. Then we drove through 'Beverley' - my namesake and somewhere I have always wanted to go. We liked the look of it and will visit for a day trip out while here, if we have time.

Arrived at the campsite in Pickering at 6.30 and in quite high winds proceeded to put up our amazing tent (thanks go to Lynn and Maurice for this and the remaining bits we have inside - cooker, camp kitchen to name 2 essentials) A couple in the tiniest campervan saw us battling with the tent against the gusts, and helped us to get it in position.

I sorted the bedrooms out, and pumped up my airbed. Positioned a sheet, sleeping bag and 2 pillows, and surrounded myself with the many bags I brought. For the first time ever, we are in separate bedrooms! Bliss!

I cooked, bacon, pasta and sweetcorn, and now I am ready for bed. My headaches and I just need a long sleep.

I've added extra photos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.