Lazy day in Pickering

We went to bed at 10, exhausted by our day travelling...and the run up to it in general. We did both sleep but it was cold. I woke a few times to pull things tighter around my neck and I heard Jon rustling about at one point, and guessed he was finding more clothes. It's a bit mad because neither of us were cold when we slept on the beach in April...but we are further north up here!

Today has been one getting to know the town. It is a short walk down the lane, and today was market day, so having been up since 7.30 we were in town by 9.30. Not many people about and some market stalls still setting up. We browsed as we walked up the main street and settled at a cafe at the top of the hill for coffee and scones with jam and cream. A great start to our holiday. More wandering, a few little purchases and even time for another coffee before heading back to the site for a late lunch.

We have relaxed all afternoon reading and doing a bit of family history research (me, not Jon). Sausages and beans with rice for dinner. Once we had washed up, we decided to go for another walk into town now it is quiet, and took the road up to the castle, then back round in a circle to the town and home via Lidl. There are some beautiful old character filled buildings, that could tell a story or two. We plan to revist the castle ruins when they are open.

We have made a plan for our week, and I've worked out my budget, so feel happier that I have some control.


Now back to my book, which Jon bought me for Christmas and I have been saving. It's called The Royal Game by Anne O'brien and is about the Paston family from Norwich and the Paston Letters from 1400s. It might interest some of my Norwich friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.