The Road Home is Never Long...

Who said that anyway?.. because it darn well is!  But then I am getting old and my days of happily driving from Toronto to Phoenix and arriving bright- eyed and bushy-tailed are long gone..Now just driving home from the cottage poops me out. I arrived safely, fed the cat and collapsed for a 3-hour nap! Got up to eat and do my blip and when I post this, I will crash...

The morning of departure from the cottage wears me out these days...Up for the sunrise as usual, launder the bedding, clean bathrooms, vacuum the cottage and guest cabin, clean out the fridge, pack the coolers, fill the bird feeders, water the flowers, gather the garbage for drop off at the dump, pack up my personal stuff, and, with my brother's help, lug it all to the dock. Load it into the boat. Lock up the cottages and at last..let the journey begin.. Whew..Then get to the marina and lug it all from the boat to the car..and then get home and lug it all from the car to the house and at last, unpack! But I digress...

The good news?...My brother's boat did not die en route...and we got to the marina intact..AND..we arrived at the swing bridge just as it was opening, providing me with my blip for the day.........Perfect! 

The bad news? (There is always something..) This time, but only in retrospect, the bad thing was hilarious. My brother, in unloading all my stuff from the boat onto the dock, did not notice that my suitcase had wheels. Being otherwise occupied, he failed to note that said suitcase rolled down the dock and into the water! He spied it floating by just in time and managed to retrieve it before it sank! Good thing I was not there at the time..but busy depositing a load onshore; I would have panicked! I learned of it only as he handed me my suitcase - dripping wet - to load into the car!  The good news? My computer, iPad,  iPhone and camera were NOT in that suitcase! 

My journey home was uneventful until I took a back road shortcut onto what turned out to be an endless strip of road construction of washboard gravel and stone...and billowing dust..only to be followed and outdone by a deluge of rain with no visibility that matched the one I had run into on the trip UP to the cottage..

But all's well that ends well..I am home, the suitcase is drying out, the cat has forgiven me my absence, and I have had a nap. The world always looks better after a nap. 

And..more good news! My Welcome Home was a book I had pre-ordered and for which I had waited a very long time..it had arrived the day I went north and I decided to leave it here as a treat for when I returned - It is Offcumdens by fellow blipper earthdreamer ( Bob Hamilton) and his friend Emma Storr..

Note to earthdreamer: It will join my many books on the shelf, but I promise I will "lift it down and release its printed voice...it will be retrieved, removed and browsed, chosen." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.