pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Final Performance

Although it was the last night of the play, there was only one star for me today and that was The Youngest as she celebrated her 8th birthday.

She would normally have been with me for the entire weekend, but with play commitments, weekends were swapped to accommodate which mean that we only had a couple of hours together today. She used it well as she tore into her presents and was delighted to receive this keyboard from me and clothes and cash from other generous benefactors. We also ate cake and played Exploding Kittens before they departed again. They’ll be back with me tomorrow for a couple of nights, which will also feature a trip to the Chill Factor in Manchester…..

With the afternoon to myself, chores were completed along with a prolonged nap to get me set in time for the final night of the play. Before the show we took a selfie (extra) of us all, which really sums up all the bodies needed for putting these things on. Everyone has worked so hard from the director to backstage to front of house and also the Prompts (not pictured). Whilst the latter rehearsals (including the dress) have proven to be very stressful, each of the performances has been great fun and I genuinely think we have got better with each one. Certainly, my visiting colleagues and friends seemed to enjoy it and were very complimentary of all the performances.

There was a slightly hairy moment this evening when ayearinthelife (extras) sought to up the ante on a dramatic exit by taking a potentially dangerous stumble into the dark down some the stairs, but I am relieved to say that he styled it out nicely. Just as well, the irony of him knocking himself out following his parting shot of “sweet dreams” would have been too much to bear. He’s been great fun this week and we’ve both enjoyed getting more liberal with the fake blood with each passing night. I was particularly pleased with my final “arterial spray” up the wall this evening…

Following the show, cast and crew pooled our resources for some snacks and sat around laughing and talking about shows old and new and ideas for the panto. For now though, it is time for a little break to give my time and focus to other exciting things and to enjoy the fact that for the first time in weeks, I don’t have to read that bloody, pain-in-the-arse script twice a day!

(Exit pursued by trail of blood)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.