pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Nine

The Youngest turned 9 today!

Bounding into my room as I was ripped from a deep slumber, she gave me a massive cuddle and then danced around requesting presents.

She got stuck in and seemed very pleased with her bits and once we were all dressed and had demolished the banana pancakes I had lovingly prepared, The Eldest and I took her out so she could get used to wearing the Heelys I had bought her. It will take a little time, but I’m sure that she will soon have it down to a fine art!

They were off back to their mum’s for lunch, which gave me time to catch up on blip and some chores before we headed off to the lake on a sweltering day for a paddle and a much-needed cool down!

I’d recently purchased a second board and we were keen to try it out, so the wee ones had great fun crashing into and trying to drown each other. We even had a sprinkling of rain, which we initially sheltered from, but then The Youngest and I decided that we’d have a paddle through the raindrops and there was something slightly magical about that.

We had gone a long way out across the lake at this point and on the return she was quite a way in front of me. I stopped paddling and just watched as my fearless, newly nine-year old glided across the water, surrounded by all the beauty that Coniston has to offer and for about the bajillionth time in my life felt so ridiculously lucky.

On our return to shore, I fired up the BBQ and it wasn’t long before we were devouring some delicious burgers.

Food always tastes better by the lake.


N.B. I’ve cheated on the photo today as this was taken at cricket the other night, but it seemed far more apt for the day. I’ve added some others in extras from today’s adventures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.