pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Walls and Wall's

The Youngest turns 9 tomorrow and to celebrate this seminal moment, I had booked a group “Crazy Climb” session at the local climbing wall.

With the temperatures soaring, I had started to question the wisdom of this, but fortunately it was not as hot as we might have feared in the centre. The activity itself was great fun and even us grown-ups got in on the fun of navigating the various walls and obstacles. I was particularly pleased to scale one of the areas in 9 seconds and definitely didn’t lord it over the children for the rest of the day.

Once the session was over, we had the option of doing the “SkyJump” where you are basically tied to a rope before stepping off a ledge and immediately plummeting 20m down a disused elevator shaft (extras). I was delighted to be first in line and let out an extremely masculine scream of joy as I dropped and my stomach attempted to escape through my nose. Great fun though! I was soon followed by LadyV and her girls with the rest of my lot declining. 

With stomachs back where they needed to be and growling to be filled, we headed back to mine where my mum had laid out the mountain of food I had bought, which was then promptly demolished by all parties. It was a lovely afternoon - we made a brief foray outside, but it really was too hot - and we ended with ice creams before everyone went on their merry way.

Cracking to see out the day watching another piece of footballing history as Manchester City defeated a resolute Inter Milan to claim their treble.

Best get prepared for her actual birthday tomorrow now! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.