The Phoenix Rises

By sheilaM

Into the distance

The press, the telly and a few of the upper echelons of the health authority, some MP and a few art students, oh and a couple of midwives, wandering round "The New Unit".
30 seconds and I do mean 30 seconds before the Minister appeared, I was told I would be showing her my department and answering her questions, despite my previous side-stepping.
She was a nice girl, boldly asking questions of the art students who's work is now permenately displayed around the walls. "How long do you have to go in your studies?" And of me " What do you actually do here?"I did manage not to say "Damned if I know", because everyone one would have probably agreed with me.
When the entourage departed, I tried surupticiously to catch the TV camera woman and her be-suited sound man, but only managed a back view of him and a big show off, with a hugely over sized lens on his camera. I didn't mention blip to them. This entry is why!

Unfortunately the day became suddenly, much more serious immediately after this and I ended up doing the worst part of my job, breaking very bad news.

A very bad headache tonight and a dread of tomorrow.

Glad this day is receding into the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.