Down In The Tube Station At Midnight

Midday actually, but I suspect it looks the same as it would at midnight. Having already travelled on the DLR and the River Boats during our stay in London, I thought we’d make our way back to Euston on the new Elizabeth Line - as far as Tottenham Court Road anyway.
We passed a bit of a link to my previous life on the way to the station - the old Woolwich Equitable Building Society Head Office. I was working for Barclays at the time they took over the Woolwich and remember all the work that involved, though I think the Head Office had moved to Bexleyheath by then.
The train was very modern and very fast. No individual carriages as such, so you could see from one end to the other. The journey was smooth and there didn’t seem to be many bends along the way. The stations were equally clean and modern looking, so it was a bit of a shock when we changed to a Northern Line tube for the last part of the journey. Cramped, noisy, rattly and airless. An object lesson in just how much things have improved in the last hundred years or so.
A day of doing nothing today as the summer cold I picked up at the weekend has not been helped by two days of train travel and a night in the big city. Contented myself with watching telly and tweaking and cleaning the new bass, in anticipation of tomorrow night’s gig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.