Dalby Forest

As planned we visited Dalby Forest today, but with no rush we spent the morning in Pickering, having breakfast at the cafe we had planned to visit Wednesday (when it was closed). Jon had pancakes with home made fruit compote and cream, and I had a bacon sandwich. We also shared buttered crumpets. We waited until a table outside was free, and enjoyed the sun.

A bit more wandering, a bit of shopping, including Jon buying me a new penknife as I have carelessly lost mine. It is pay day today, so I was lucky. He offered and I accepted...choosing not the cheapest, because I wanted scissors. I have to take real care not to lose it. We had a coffee in another small cafe before heading back. At the tent, we packed a picnic and headed the short drive up the road to Dalby Forest. A little surprised at the cost of parking, but it is what it is (£10 or if you arrive after 4pm, £5). We found a lovely spot by a small beck to sit in the shade and enjoy our picnic and our books. After an hour or so there, we went to the visitor centre, and after a cup of tea took one of the circuitous routes up into the woods. An hour and a half where some of the walk was quite a steep climb. I am extremely unfit, but it was good fir me. Jon found a couple of large pellets which we took apart with my new knife, and found bones, and a whole foot. Not sure what bird or mammal had deposited it.

Drove back to the tent at about 6. It has really cooled. It was warm today but nor as hot as predicted, but that suits me. We've had dinner, and now settling down to read. The camp site is full of people with mobile homes.

In our dreams...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.