Robin Hood's Bay and Whitby

We had another lazy start. I'm definitely sleeping better since the first night when we were both cold. Jon blames it on me wanting my own bedroom..and has started calling me his flat mate! I'm not moving though- I have far too much stuff to share. He will just have to buy me a caravan if he wants me back as a wife! Lol.

We had a nice day visiting various hotshots on the North Yorkshire moors. We began at Goathland. Not much to see, and I suspect as Heartbeat becomes a distant memory, they will struggle to gain any custom in their very samey gift shops, which are still all trying to cash in on the now vintage show! We did watch the steam train come in, and had tea/coffee/cake at the station cafe. It was warm inland, but from there we moved to Robin Hood's Bay and the coast was cooler. We walked down to the beach with our picnic and chairs, and there we stayed for 3 hours. The adults (Jon) sat and read while the children (me) searched in the rock pools for anything and everything. I had hoped to find some jet, but suspect all I have found is coal now I have read up about it. No fossils either. I walked and searched for a good hour. The beach was busy. I did see a tiny hermit crab turn over and scurry away from me, and a couple of tiny fish in the rock pools. I eventually found a large piece of rock which I think is part of a very worn ammonite. Photo in extras.

From there we drove on to Whitby. We walked through the small lanes (another extra) then sat and had a beer, before getting fish and chips. The drive home was easy - just half an hour.

Now some reading as it cools. No big plans for tomorrow- a lazy morning, then to Dalby Forest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.