GTs, G&Ts

I took MrQ to the optician in Epping this morning. While he was being looked after Ollie dog and I went for a walk along the shady side of the High Street and then sat on a bench opposite the office where my daughter works. A Bentley Continental GTC Speed was parked outside. I thought I invented the use of contrasting colour for wing mirrors. :) I think it's a pre-2018 model as it has the slabby rear lights.

Then, what I think is, a Kia Picanto GT came into view. It amused me to see the two in the same livery in the same shot. GT stands for Gran Turismo or Grand Tour. This was a cultural tour around Europe taken during from the 17th to the 19th century. In automotive terms it means a model that is comfortable and powerful over long distances, more elegant and refined than traditional sports cars. Convertible Bentley GT 0-60 mph in 3.5 seconds, Kia Picanto GT 0-60 mph in 8.8 seconds.

When we returned to the optician's MrQ wasn't ready and Ollie dog was a bit huffy-puffy in the 30 degree heat. She hadn't wanted to drink out of the bowls outside shops in the High Street. The receptionist very kindly got her a drink of water. The only thing she could find to put it in was a fairly narrow container. (Extras) It reminded me of Aesop's fable of The Fox and the Stork. :) 

I made MrQ a lovely, refreshing, extra long G&T this evening. He accused me of not putting any gin it. He was huffy-puffy in the heat too.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.