BIrthday Gift from my Sister

This has sure been one of those “lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer”. The temps have risen to 100°F with a heat index even higher. There are severe thunderstorms forecasted. I only left the suite to pick up leftovers from my son’s place. The lasagna was even better the second day. I have been occupied with blip, receiving birthday greetings on Facebook, texts and by phone and reading my Kindle. Jamie and the rest of the crew went to Busch Gardens - no way were hubby and I being talked into joining them. They have sent us photos of their day. At some point, my grandson Mancil, Maddie, her mom and grandfather passed by on their way to a weekend softball tournament in Va. Beach. Kristen and her family are making the same trip tonight for a week of camping. Hubby bought us two folding chairs for tomorrow; the only thing we forgot to bring. This gorgeous begonia did make the trip with us. My sister knew we would not be together today so she gave it to me early. Our WV neighbor has one she winters in her basement and it comes back each year. We are always admiring it. My kids gave my sister two last year and they are looking very healthy at the moment. Sure hope I can be as successful. We try to celebrate each other’s birthdays together; we missed the mark this year on both days. But having the plant in the room means she’s here in spirit. Hubby and I are going to brave the elements soon and head out for a Tex-Mex dinner. Then the day will be complete. Thanks for the visit. No news. Hubby says we should not stress me out today. Stay safe. “A sister is a gift to the heart, a friend to the spirit, a golden thread to the meaning of life.” - Isadora James

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.