Just having a chat & a prayer

Bit of a cheat as I haven't taken any photos today. This one was taken yesterday, when I asked F.M.i.L. Betty, if she wanted to come with me to water the flowers on the graves. She did ask if she was ok in her nightie and dressing gown and I told her there won't be many people there, and there was hardly a soul, apart from the residents of course.
Sometimes she says no, because she has no idea what graves I mean. She often asks if 'Peter', my Father in Law, knows where she is staying. He died on St Valentines Day, 2004. She is quite amazed when I tell her. I think her confusion does worry her. I should get into the habit of just saying 'yes, I'm sure he does', but sometimes that can lead to further, confusing, conversation.
She is so much better now than she was a few months ago, physically. Her dementia carries on causing her terrible confusion at times. I do think the day centre, once a week, is helping her. She seems to enjoy it, but then asks if we are going into 'this house' when I bring her home. She's only lived with us for 10 years, she'll get used to it eventually maybe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.