Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Dennis at 90

Our lovely friend, Dennis, celebrated his 90th birthday with a small party in Wall Village Hall today. I was asked to photograph the people present so there will be a record of the day.

It was a happy afternoon. The celebrations were low key because Dennis is not in the best of health. His daughter, Kate, organised things perfectly.

This morning I went to hear Anthony Seldon talking about The Impossible Office -  The History of the British Prime Minister. He gave an excellent illustrated lecture. I have heard him speak on the radio on the same topic, but I was not at all bored. 

I liked the way he made sure that the audience was well engaged by asking questions of us. 

This evening, I was back for Frank Gardner, talking about his book, Outbreak, the third in a series with three more commissioned already. I think I need to start at number 1.

Inevitably the questions were about current politics and he was informative, interesting and terrifying about those. He warned us not to want to get rid of Putin without thinking of the consequences. "Be careful what you wish for". Oh dear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.