Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Val McDermid

The last session of the Hexham Book Festival hosted Val McDermid. She told us that her publishers have been told not to describe her as the Queen of crime writing. Apparently the estate of Agatha Christie has patented the title for Agatha!!

Nevertheless, her track record is impressive. Her new book, 1979, is one in a series she is writing about the protagonist at ten year intervals. (Val is not writing every ten years and the next book will be published in August.)

I read chapter one whilst in the queue for book signing, so I was able to ask the meaning of the word hough when I reached her. It means beef shin.

She was relaxed, erudite, entertaining and thoughtful. 

I spent most of the day editing the photos from Dennis' birthday party and making them into an online album so that people can see them. I hope they like them.

Now it's time to go to bed to read chapter 2!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.