Daisies

The last two mornings have been very warm, sunny and bright.  It looked very grey and windy when I got up this morning, which was a real disappointment, as I was out early to catch a bus to Edinburgh – a late-running bus.  By the time I got into Edinburgh it was raining – thankfully I had packed a rain jacket.  I caught a train to Alnmouth where I was met by a friend who had driven up from Newcastle.  We drove into Alnmouth village – for the station is not in Alnmouth.  We had a  wee wander around the village, stopping in a café for a cuppa and to allow us to make a plan.  Our plan was to walk to Craster and of course then back again.
 
It was a really lovely walk, even though the cloud was thick and there was no sunshine.  It wasn’t cold, unless we suddenly changed direction to be walking into the wind.  We stopped in Craster, by the harbour,  and had our picnic, and all too soon we turned around and retraced our steps.  I was very tempted to keep going to Dunstanburgh Castle, but I would not have got back in time for my train.  The tide was in on our return journey, which made for a different view.
 
We got back to Alnmouth in good time, and just as our legs were beginning to feel a little weary – I am sure that was more psychological than physical.  M took me back to the station, only to find out that my train was delayed, and then delayed again – It was over 40 minutes late in the end.  M very kindly waited with me, just in case it didn’t appear.  But it did, and unlike my morning train it was rather busy.  There was no real reason given for the delay, apart from a fault.
 
Anyway, it made good time back to Edinburgh as it didn’t stop anywhere en route.  That meant I didn’t have long to wait on my bus home.  Wrong!  My bus also seemed to be delayed.  What a nuisance.  Public transport hasn’t been good for me today, apart from my outgoing train.  The bus eventually appeared and I eventually got home.  TT and BB were in not long before me.,  They had been to watch BB’s team play in a cup final – which of course he couldn’t play in.  They won - so much happiness all round, and they included BB in the photos and presentation, which was great.
 
They had picked up fish and chips on their way home and had got me some too.  To be honest a slice of toast would have done me, but I did enjoy the fish and chips.  I then fell into bed, sated and exhausted.
 
This lovely sight was just before we got back to Alnmouth.  A poppy two days running!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.