Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Goldie

..on marsh thistle (I think but I've put my wildflower guide down somewhere stupid so I can't check!)

This was the reserve early today.  As always, I wished I'd got a longer lens, but all the same I did enjoy seeing this goldfinch beating hell out of the thistle.  I had thought they only went for the seeds, but this little character clearly thought it was simply a question of perseverence and a good breakfast would be available!

Actually, I spent rather longer out than I had meant to.  Almost at the exit gate I found mum and dad swan lounging across the path with their one cygnet (which has grown enormously).  It's narrow there, no way I could get passed them, so I had to backtrack  and go all round the loop again the other way.

Still, I did finally get home and later I started preparing the ground for my new garden plants.

What else have I done?  Surprisingly, nothing much ;))

Wishing you a fine evening and a great tomorrow  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.