A day in the life

By Shelling

Hailstorm

I'm expecting visitors tonight, the first overnighting friend in my new house.
That meant, of course to clean up a little, fix the beds up, cut the grass and do some shopping. These are old friends from Lund, my nearest city when I was young in the south of Sweden, 300 km south from here. The man dates back to when I was sixteen. His brother and me started a band together, along with a friend of theirs. We played covers, we were beginners, we never became anything as a band but we're still very good friends. The woman arriving tonight, is my friends wife and we've known each other since the eighties, when the three of us went to Nordkapp together. They've been to see friends of theirs on Gotland, the large island east from where I am. We have a day together tomorrow, then they leave for home on Wednesday. It'll be fun to see them here, I've visited them in Lund a few times.

I was just getting ready to go outside to have a beer, when this hailstorm sneaked up from the north and emptied its content as if someone had put the shower on. I stayed in but my neighbour was cutting the grass and was soaked and had to run for shelter. It's so exciting here.
Tomorrow is the summer solstice, I'll try not to be sad about it, better to enjoy all the days left of what we call "Highsummer".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.