The second half of life..

By twigs

Double bubble foil insulation

Sounds like some lines from a Macbeth parody!  

Woke to a very cold morning........-2 degree frost which covered everything including my car windscreen.  I hadn't thought about the car until it was time to head out to my chiropractic appointment and found it all iced up.  Argh.  Windscreen wipers on fast, windscreen blowers at full blast, couldn't find a scraper so resorted to scraping it with my bare hands.  It took 5 minutes but I got there in the end.  Unfortunately I got to my appointment 5 minutes late :(

A little shopping whilst I was in town - essentials, like coffee, wool socks and petrol then home to the day's big project.

The bubble foil insulation had arrived before I left for my appointment so it was pretty much straight into action.  First off - make a template for the windscreen (thanks to a great youtube video which made life a whole heap easier, although his version is like a deluxe creation compared to my economy creation).  His template method worked perfectly and I soon had it cut out and fitted.  Woo hoo :)  There followed much to-ing and froing as I measured and planned, cut and fitted but by the end of the day, I have a set of 90% finished window coverings that I hope will be me snuggly down south.  Actually, I'd been thinking I'd be heading to potentially -7 degrees.......on the news tonight the area was reported to have reached -11 in some spots with a hoar frost that looked a-MA-zing!  Yikes!  I have a plan whist I'm there but I'm prepared to change plans if necessary as I'm not going to be taking any risks with my warmth and comfort.

I think we're heading for an equally cold night tonight then this cold spell will be petering out.  I'm getting a tad excited by the thought of my icy adventure now though it would be nice if the weather stayed mild whilst I was driving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.