Pigeon Underground

I started the day by walking to my 8am Osteopath appointment. It was only 6degC! We had breakfast after I arrived home, then my 93-year-old uncle arrived for a lesson from hubby on aspects of using his iPhone.  Meanwhile I threw a load of washing on and spent some time working. I really didn’t seem to do much and before I knew it, it was time to catch the bus to go down to St Heliers for our 5km walk with the Pigeon Underground. It’s a flat walk out to Mission Bay and back, followed by a drink at the St Heliers Bay Pigeon Racing Club bar.  We managed to cut a minute off our time from last week, which was very pleasing.

As a result of being inside most of the day and then out walking, I realised after supper that I didn’t have a blip for today.  Hubby made a couple of suggestions and I decided on one of them. We try not to buy plastic, but in this case it’s for a worthwhile cause.  Will&Able is a social enterprise initiative driven out of Altus Enterprises, an organisation that provides over 200 jobs for people with mental and physical disabilities. We purchase the products and when the bottles are empty they can be returned to Will&Able for cleaning and re-use. Their bottles are made from 100% NZ milk bottles and their RETURN TO SENDER recycling programme is their way of taking responsibility for what they make and sell. Each bottle has a photo on the label of one of the Will&Able team members. I’m just packing up a couple of boxes with the empty bottles, ready to return them to Will&Able for repurposing. A nice story for my blip.

There are 5,499 new community cases today, and the seven-day rolling average is 4,873 compared to 5,777 last Wednesday. The number of people in hospital is 334, including 4 in ICU. Another 18 deaths have been reported, bringing the total number of deaths to 1,450 and the seven-day rolling average to 13.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.