ST JAMES PARK

I went to Newcastle this afternoon.  Before I started my shopping I made my way to St James Park - home of Newcastle United FC.  The Wide Wednesday theme is Stiles or Gates and I decided to feature the wrought iron gates at the ground for my blip. Thanks to RockArea for hosting.

These historic wrought iron gates used to be in pride of place at the Gallowgate End of the stadium but were removed in the 90s during redevelopment of the ground.  They were placed into storage at the country home of former owner Sir John Hall. It seems they were all but forgotten about until club officials, fans and the club sponsors made the effort to get the gates returned to the ground.  In 2013 they were repainted and they came back to St James Park.  As you can see the gates don't form an entrance to the ground now but have been placed against the outside wall as a focal point.  They are popular as a backdrop for fans photographs on match day.

Once I had my blip shot I walked back down to the shops.  Stocked up with fruit and veg in Waitrose and bird food in Wilkinsons.

The weather today has been hot and sunny.  Especially in Newcastle.  I sat outside in the back garden when I got home and there was a nice breeze and it was a bit cooler. 

Steps today - 7,539

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.